Adjust your availability using the slider in the top toolbar.
Return to the default search page using the Home button in the top toolbar.
Personal profile settings can be accessed from the Me button in the top toolbar.
Boards are accessed from the Boards button in the top toolbar, with the option to view your own boards or all public boards. All users get at least one board. You can add people to your board with the Add button on profile cards or individual profiles.
Private notes you create can only be seen by you. Use notes to add useful information only you can see and edit.
Messages and notifications are accessed from the Inbox button in the top toolbar. Message options are also available in profiles and boards.
Teams are groups of users. You can apply to a join a team if it’s public. Solo X and Studio X users can create a public or private team, and invite any user to join.
Account and Billing can be accessed from the top toolbar under the Me button options. Change or upgrade your billing plan here.
01. Starter X Overview
Starter X is a free user plan. It comes with the essentials to build your network profile, portfolio, and one board. Your profile is key to developing a network of clients and/or talent. A good profile will attract the attention of agencies and studios for example, increasing your chances of being added to their private and public boards of talent. The more boards you are on, the wider your network becomes.
02. Solo X Overview
Solo X is for professionals requiring greater industry network access. It comes with the essentials to build your network profile, portfolio, and boards. Your profile is key to developing a network of clients and/or talent. A good profile will attract the attention of other talent, agencies and studios for example. Maintaining an up-to-date profile greatly increases your chances of being added to other private and public boards of talent. The more boards you are on, the wider your professional network becomes.
03. Studio X Overview
Studio X is for project and talent managers coordinating their own agency or studio talent networks. It comes with the essentials to build your network profile, portfolio, and boards. Your profile is also important in attracting a wider network of talent. Import your existing talent lists to your private boards, and organize them anyway you want, adding individual notes only you can see and edit.
04. Personal Profile
Your profile is key to developing a network of clients and/or talent. A good profile will attract the attention of agencies and studios for example, increasing your chances of being added to their private and public boards of talent. Profiles include a text description of yourself and your abilities. Give the reader some sense of your personality, how you like to work, and what you want to work on. People are often more interested in where you are heading than where you’ve been. If you are heading somewhere interesting, others are more likely to follow you.
Profiles include the option of adding a portfolio. If you are not a visual person, you can use Portfolios for case studies or summaries of projects you’ve worked on. For example, if you’re a developer, explain the project outline, your role and the tech stack involved.
Profile Settings have a range of options to control what is displayed and to who. You can set your profile to private so it cannot be found using our search feature. While in private mode you can still share your profile, apply for projects or teams to join. Private profiles are common for some senior creative agency people for example. Just because you cannot see their profile, don’t assume they are not looking at your profile.
Solo X and Studio X users can create and manage Teams from within their profile page.
Portfolios are available to all users. You can create multiple portfolios from within your Profile. Portfolios can be used to display visual works and/or text. If you are not a designer, you can use portfolios for case studies.
Set your personal preferences in Settings, found within your Profile. In Settings you can set you privacy, update your skills list and experience levels.
To change your billing plan, upgrade or downgrade, go to Account and Billing under the Me menu at the top of the page.
If you’ve used Pinterest, you’ll be familar with pinning favorite images. With boards in Dovetail X you can pin your favorite talent, easily keeping track of their availability and recent work.
To access your board, click on the boards icon in the top menu bar.
Free users get one board, Solo X users get two boards, and Studio X users get unlimited boards. See plans for details.
A board can be set to public or private.
Public boards can be found in search by all Dovetail X users. Public boards are good for discovering communities or simply sharing epic talent you find.
Private boards are where you can keep a list of talent for future projects. Private boards cannot be found in public search. However, you can share your private board via messaging.
To set a board to private, go to your boards list (the boards icon above). Click more icon on the right and select the permissions option.
Adding talent to your board is easy. Find a user profile and simply add that person to your board using the add icon. Studio X users see Import to Boards.
To remove someone from your board, look for the three vertical dot icon or more icon on the bottom right of their card or in list view on the right. Select remove from the drop down menu.
To message or refer someone on your board, click the more icon on the right and select the available option.
08. Import to Boards
Studio X users can import lists to a board in CSV format (the CSV format is typically exported from a spreadsheet like Excel, Numbers of Google Sheets). For example, you can import a list of your freelancers.
If the freelancers are not already Dovetail X users, you can invite them to join and create a profile. Having your freelancers in your private boards allows you to keep track of their availability and what they’ve been working on recently.
Your imported list is private unless you choose to make it public. Private boards cannot be found in the board search of Dovetail X. You can share access to a private board with a link.
09. Private Notes
Notes are private. Only you can see them in the Dovetail X app.
A note can be added to the profile of anyone in your boards.
To access your boards, click on the boards icon in the top menu bar.
If no note exists, then the note icon is outlined. Click the icon to add a new note in the right side panel that appears.
A note is a simple text document with basic formatting. To format, select the text characters and the format toolbar will appear. Select an option, or click elsewhere to dismiss the toolbar.
To delete a note, simply select all the text in the note and delete, then either add a new note or close the note sidebar to save the change.
10. Messaging and Notifications
Messages and notifications are displayed in the right side panel.
Messages can be sent to your contacts only. To initial a new contact, choose the message function from the profile card under the More button (three vertical dots). You’ll then be able to send a request contact message.
Messages behave like a chat between tow people, with a timeline conversation thread.
To start a new message, go the your contacts own profile page and select the message option under the Message button. Or access the message function from the profile card under the More button (three vertical dots). If you have an existing message thread with this person, it will show in the right side panel
Notifications can be an invitation to join a team or project. You can respond to certain notifications, such as an invitation to a project, turning it into a message thread. Notifications can also have actions, for example, a button to accept an invitation. Other notifications may be simply and advisory, for example, an alert or confirmation.